The Community Foundation is privileged to administer scholarship funds on behalf of the communities we serve.

The Community Foundation accepts Scholarship Funds that are able to accomplish three goals:

  1. To qualify as a charitable activity so as not to jeopardize the tax-exempt status of the Community Foundation;
  2. To provide donors to scholarship funds with an income tax deduction; and
  3. To provided income to scholarship recipients that is non-taxable.

An application is available for students nearing graduation in our area schools. To be eligible for a Michigan Gateway Community Foundation Scholarship, applicants must use the Online application form.

Click here for 2019 Online Scholarship Application
Funding Your Education Information

Funding Your Education will give you more information on how to plan for and finance your college education.

2018 Scholarship Recipients

Walter E. Schirmer Memorial Scholarship Emily Branch
Eugene Smith Scholarship Hailey Maust
Harriet J. Swartz Scholarship Dakota Fonseca
Robert J. Rotzien Memorial Scholarship Natalie Thompson
Ellis Family Memorial Scholarship Katherine Kaltenbach
Mary Ella Powell Memorial Scholarship Olivia Riddle, Zoe Mittan, Robert Fay
Ida Hacking Memorial Scholarship Robert Fay
Ruediger and Karin Kappe Scholarship No recipient in 2018
Roma Holmes Scholarship Cailin Gunn
Hike for Higher Education Scholarship Kenneth Stuckey
Trull Family Scholarship Alexis Carrigan
Ray E. Babcock Memorial Scholarship Cailin Gunn
Ray Ricordati, Jr. Memorial Scholarship Alyssa Nichols
Galien Buchanan Lions Club Scholarship Jessica Lee, Selena Martinez
Richard Dougherty LMC Scholarship No recipient in 2018
Janet L. Mottl Memorial Scholarship Sara Bianchi
Unity Hospital Health Education Scholarship Lucie Behrle, Emily Branch, Adam Eger, Kevin Frost, Rachel Gonder, Selena Martinez, Zoe Mittan, Madison Schau
Janet Funk Racht Memorial Scholarship Rachel Gonder
George and Margaret Contois Scholarship Lindsay Eichenberg
Niles High School Class of 1962 No recipient in 2018
Baxter Memorial Scholarship Alec Janowski
Jeanne Griffin Memorial Scholarship Devin Tomlinson
O.W. Coolidge Scholarship Alec Janowski
Sarley Family Scholarship Alec Janowski
Jane Davis Health Careers Scholarship Janki Devdhara, Adam Eger
Fay Frazee Nursing Scholarship Jessica Lee
Mary Swan Scholarship Alec Janowski
Stephen Tyler Memorial Scholarship Dayleigh Miller, Jose Magana
Carol Thurston Scholarship No recipient in 2018
Lee F. Auble Memorial Scholarship Samantha Hildebrand
Galien Ambulance Scholarship Madison Schau
Ann Coulston Memorial Scholarship Erin Schimmel
Brandywine 67 Alumni Scholarship Alexis Kozuch
Ralph and Margaret Vosburgh Family Memorial Scholarship Kyle Barnett
Brandywine 73 Alumni Scholarship Jamie Yike
Jay and Cecile McCombs Memorial Scholarship Taylor Derscha
Semper Fi Scholarship Peter Cummings
Niles Buchanan Rotary Scholarship Dalton Knapp
Lloyd Bywaters Memorial Scholarship Bradley Nicholas
Cassopolis School Foundation Scholarship Brandon Anderson, Caleb Steensma
Caryl Beck-Miller Pets Alive Scholarship No recipient in 2018
Joseph Norton Sheteron Memorial Scholarship Xander Smith
Marabeth Wright Memorial Sholarsahip Brandon Anderson
BHS Class of 1968 Zoe Mittan, Jessica Lee